This week at Azamra
19 Tishri 5782 / 25 September 2021

Coming classes and study schedule

6-26 Tishri 5782
September 12-October 2, 2021

NEXT CLASS

The next live Zoom meeting with Rabbi Greenbaum is scheduled for Sunday October 10 at 16:00 hours Israel time. The topic will be: Lessons of Noah & Abraham for Our Times . To receive the links to participate, please subscribe to Azamra's Live Classes email list.

WEEKLY TORAH READINGS

Shabbat September 18: Ha'azinu Deuteronomy 32: 1-52
Torah for the Nations commentary: Moses' Last Song

Shabbat September 25: Intermediate Sabbath of the Festival of Succot. Torah reading: Exodus 33:12-34:26; Numbers 29:23-28; Haftara: Ezekiel 38:18-39:16

Simchat Torah September 28/29: Ve-zot Habrachah Deuteronomy 33:1-34:12
Torah for the Nations commentary: Moses lives!

Shabbat October 2: Bereishit Genesis 1:1-6:8
Torah for the Nations commentary: Torah Study & the Dignity of Man

SUBSCRIBE TO WEEKLY TORAH COMMENTARY EMAILS
WEEKLY PORTIONS COMMENTARY ARCHIVE

DAILY BIBLE STUDY
Know-Your-Bible 15th Annual Study Cycle:

The Fifteenth KNOW YOUR BIBLE Annual Study Cycle concludes on Sunday September 26 with our completion of the book of Isaiah. The Sixteenth Annual Study Cycle begins on Thursday September 30 with the Book of Joshua Chapters 1-2.

Schedule September 12-17
Sun September 12
Isaiah 47-48
Mon September 13 Isaiah 49-50
Tues September 14 Isaiah 51-52
Wed September 15 Isaiah 53-54
Thur September 16 Yom Kippur
Fri September 17 Isaiah 55-56

On the Intermediate Shabbat of the Festival of Succot, this year on September 25, it is customary to read the scroll of Kohelet (Ecclesiastes) prior to the Synagogue Torah reading.
Commentary on Kohelet
Chapters 1-2 3-4 5-6 7-8 9-10 11-12
Subscribers to the Know Your Bible commentary emails will receive these commentaries in their mailbox prior to the Festival of Succot.

Schedule September 19-24
Sun September 19
Isaiah 57-58
Monday September 20 Isaiah 59-60
Tues September 21
First day of Succot
Wed September 22 Second day of Succot
Thur September 23 Isaiah 61-62
Fri September 24 Isaiah 63-64

Schedule September 26-October 1
Sun September 26
Isaiah 65-66
Monday September 27
Hoshana Rabba
Tues September 28 Shemini Atzeret
Wed September 29 Simchat Torah
Thur September 30 Joshua 1 & 2
Fri October 1 Joshua 3-4

SUBSCRIBE TO DAILY BIBLE COMMENTARY EMAILS
BIBLE COMMENTARY ARCHIVE

READ OF THE WEEK

Teshuvah: Returning to G-d The Succah and the House

TORAH FOUNDATIONS

Daily study of Rambam's Mishneh Torah Law Code

By courtesy of Chabad.org
1 chapter a day
3 chapters a day
Corresponding commandments from Sefer HaMitzvot
The entire Mishneh Torah is available in English online here.

Two must-read basic texts

By the saintly kabbalah genius, Rabbi Moshe Chaim Luzzatto
("RaMChaL", 1707-47):
The Way of God The classic exposition of the fundamentals of Torah belief
Path of the Just The classic practical guide to the Torah path of self-perfection